Home : Government

  Stanley Government  

Stanley has a Mayoral/Council form of government that meets the first and third Mondays of each month at 7 pm.  Four Wards each have two representitives on the city council.  Member of the current council are:

Norman Christianson, Acting Mayor

Roger Halls and Jesse Frey – 1st Ward

Howard Duckett & Kent Barby – 2nd Ward

Jacob Huff & Lance Johnson – 3rd Ward

Vacant & Laurie Foster – 4th - 8th Wards

The council is in constant contact with the Public Works Department, who provides for the upkeep and projects in the city parks, water treatment and sewage plants, streets and infrastruction areas.  Two Water treatment plants supply the city.  Daily water demands by business, industry and residential customers are nearly one million gallons per day.  A modern wastewater treatment plant is located on the southeast corner of the city, along Highway 29.

The City Clerk-Treasurers Office is located in a historic City Hall Building located at 116 E 3rd Ave.  with a phone number of 715-644-5758, email clerk@stanleywisconsin.us.  


The Police Deptment is also located at the City Hall and can be reached at 715-644-5975. Our officers provide around the clock protective services.

A Volunteer Fire Department is housed in a modern building at 239 E 1st Ave. The city's ISO fire rating for insurance purposes is 5, which allows businesses and industries reduced rates on their property insurance Members of the Stanley Fire Department are First Responder trained also.